We specialize in Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT)

Our clients come to see us for a variety of reasons – including:

  • Anxiety Disorders
  • Borderline Personality Disorder
  • Interpersonal Relationship Issues
  • Depression and Bipolar Disorder

Shaina Gordon, LCSW is extensively trained in Dialectical behavior therapy (DBT). DBT is a therapy designed to help people change patterns of behavior that are not helpful, such as self-harm, suicidal thinking, and substance abuse. DBT assumes that people are doing their best but lack the skills needed to succeed, or are influenced by positive reinforcement or negative reinforcement that interferes with their ability to function appropriately.

The 4 Stages And Targets of DBT


Standard DBT includes four stages and a pre-treatment phase.

  • STAGE 0: Pre-Treatment & Intake
  • STAGE 1: Most clients begin in stage 1, which targets stability and behavioral control
  • STAGE 2: Processing Trauma and Improving Emotional Experience
  • STAGE 3: Achieving Individual, Real World problems
  • STAGE 4: Capacity for sustained joy, deeper meaning
    • There is no timeline for moving through these stages

For more information on DBT: https://psychcentral.com/lib/an-overview-of-dialectical-behavior-therapy/

Dialectical Behavioral Therapy Georgia (DBTGA) – dbtga.com